COFFEE, TEA or MACAROONS – Royal Arcade, Melbourne

IMG_9899

I debated whether to erase the scratches and marks on the glass case (holding the old teacups), but then decided it added another layer of interest to the image.

The Royal Arcade has all the architectural details painted in Black, with black and white tiles on the floor in a checkerboard design.  I’ve taken many photos but never been able to capture the atmosphere of this heritage listed arcade, but you can read about it here.  Or check out some photos on Google images.  In the meantime, the bright sunlight was shining through the upper windows in the arched roof and highlighting some of the shoppers and cafe patrons.  Definitely no need to increase the contrast or definition in most of these photos.

IMG_9900 IMG_9901 IMG_9902 IMG_9903 IMG_9905 IMG_9906

7 thoughts on “COFFEE, TEA or MACAROONS – Royal Arcade, Melbourne

  1. They’ve become the ‘in’ thing to eat here and there’s even ‘macaroon’ shops here, Mark. Don’t do much for me, but then I’m basically a savoury eater – lemon, salt & vinegar, or marinated Antipasta are my thing.
    A bit of really good chocolate occasionally feeds my sweet tooth, but then I go without sugar for weeks.
    I’m not a biscuit or cake eater either (unless it’s Christmas fruit cake or a tangy lemon tart).

    Like

  2. When I started work in Melbourne 50 years ago I used to have coffee in Royal Arcade. There weren’t many places to get coffee then. And by chance I was there yesterday. And I like Black and white.

    Like

  3. Thanks for dropping by Suchled.
    There sure are a lot of coffee shops in Melbourne now, of course. I think it must be the influence of central European immigrants that bring us all our coffee shops.
    (I came across your blog through your comment on another blog I follow and decided to check yours out as you’re Australian). I must say you have a very entertaining way with words. You really should write a book. If you enjoy the ‘Birds & Bees’ stuff you may prefer my other blog Living with Nature. My background is in the 2nd post. My old blog is at victoriaaphotography.wordpress.com if you’re interested in more.

    I can see I’m going to enjoy following yours.

    Like

  4. Great to meet you you Vicki. I am in Ballarat as you might see from some of my pics. I wish I still had some of my old cameras. But .. not to worry.
    PS I repeat, I love B&W photography. In fact I think I might write a post about it. That’s what happens with blogs. Other people’s really kick in.

    Like

Leave a comment