LIFESTYLE

JOHN FRANCIS CARROLL


Tagged: ,

I first met John Francis Carroll when he was busking at the Queen Victoria Market in North Melbourne last year.

His guitar playing was superb and I sat on a bench nearby for quite some time (lost in his music).  I approached him during a break in his playing and asked if he minded me making some photos of him as he played and if it would be ok to share them online.  I can’t remember that I did share them online at the time, but I certainly emailed him several images a few days later and said he could use them in any way he wished.  I bought a  couple of his CDs – Salmon Tails Up The Water (Celtic music, of which I am a big fan) and Musica Dalla Corsia (an even better collection of his talents) which I have listened to many times and thoroughly enjoyed.

He plays guitar, harmonium, bodhran, keyboard and Mandolin.

You can imagine my surprise and delight to get an email from him last week saying he loved one of the images so much, he’d used it on the back cover of his latest CD; Blues Instrumentals (of which I received several copies in the mail today but haven’t had a chance to play the CD yet, having been in the city half the afternoon for an appointment and some street photography).

As an amateur photographer, I must admit I get a thrill when anyone uses one of my images and credits me as the Photographer.


 

 John plays at various venues in and around Melbourne, together with some function & festival work.  He may be contacted on his website.

Keep any eye out for him if you’re a Melburnian – he’s well worth listening to.

 

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

