STREET ART, STREET PHOTOS

STREET ART (and how to shoot a photo series)


Tagged: , , ,

IMG_7772

In this weeks newsletter of Australian Photography.com  (which I subscribe to), there’s an article on how to shoot a photo series.

I think I do a photo series every time I step out my front door.  I started this blog off with the intention of only uploading one Black & White image for every post (with no words or explanation of my intent) except the post Title.

I quickly ran out of steam because many/most of my online photo sharing in the past has been about A walk with my Camera.

I love Black & White, but simply could not do enough that I was satisfied with, to (post regularly).  I also found it too hard on my limited energy to keep up 2 blogs with regular posts.  Actually, I was running 3 blogs at one stage last year – one on Health subjects, treatments and Alternative Therapies (of which I have had much experience and formal certification).

But as to Photo Series……..

My afternoon excursions with my camera have usually involved a series of images, (close-up & distant), of whatever location I visit.

In the first part of the Australian Photography article they stress Planning Ahead – Plan, Plan, Plan.

I don’t.

I just make a series of images reflecting what I see on my walk and chose a number to upload in a post.  Now that I don’t restrict this blog to Black & White, there will be more colour series in the future.

Case in point is today’s post from my Street Art archives.  They’re old images, but  on the day I shot them in Hosier Lane in Melbourne’s CBD, they would have made a good “photo series”.  Actually, they’re bright and vibrant and maybe a little too much to share for the nature lovers.  But now that this blog is about varied subjects, not just B & W, it’s relevant to post them.

I’ve made hundreds of photos of Street Art from the city over the years, as the lanes and wall surfaces keep getting painted over by various artists (and some non-artists who just want to make graffiti or spoil artist’s work).

If you went to Hosier Lane today, you may well see a completely different series to the above.

(Both people in the above series consented to my taking their photo and using it on my blog.  I don’t usually ask Buskers or Street Artists unless I’m right up close.  I figure if they’re performing in public hoping to get noticed (and make money), then my followers or random viewers can publicly see the results).

15 Comments

Leave a Reply

