STREET PHOTOS

DON’T WALK……….WALK (Melbourne CBD)


Tagged: , , , , ,

_DSC0589 - Version 2

_DSC0590 - Version 2

I’m having great fun with my new Sony ‘mirrorless’ camera, but getting frustrated in the city, as I keep having to change lenses back and forth, from 15-60mm f3.5 – 5.6 kit lens, to 55-210mm f4.5 – 6.3 kit lens, and back again.  I do believe I need an 18-200mm lens like my old Canon DSLR favourite lens i.e. a combination of both kit lenses.

(Thinking to Self…..I wonder if the camera store would swap the two kit lenses for an 18-200mm lens? – probably not – the Sony 18-200mm lens is so expensive.  Make mental note to put it on the Wish List).

Patience, patience, I keep telling myself.  We’re having some lovely Autumn-like weather this week in Melbourne.  Sunny and warm, cooler in the shade and NO humidity (which I’m aware of).

I’m totally in awe of this camera.  The autofocus is so fast and the focus nice and sharp (compared to my old DSLR).  I used it in the Botanic Gardens for an hour or so today and tried capturing birds on continuous focus/shooting.  At 11fps (frames per second), it was a joy to use.  I managed to get a bird’s face in focus ok, but don’t know how to get the sharp focus on the bird’s eye.  I did a Google search with the question and it seems there’s some sort of ‘custom function’ within the face recognition menu.  I couldn’t quite grasp the instructions on the Sony a6000 forum I was reading, but I’ll get it in the end.

I’m beginning to sound like an advert for Sony Cameras 😀 but seriously, I was making photos of anything and everything as I walked along the street yesterday,  aiming for the finale (some time in the future), when I can change anything on the menu and dials (without having to move my eye from the viewfinder).  I really felt like a Photographer today.

One of my few criticisms is that in fumbling over the last week since I made the purchase, it’s very easy to drop into a sub-menu and change some setting when I least expect it.  In Chinatown yesterday, I ended up with a short series of photos of which there were 3 of each subject.  I had accidentally dropped into ‘Bracketing’ so I had 1 photo underexposed, 1 photo ‘correctly’ exposed and 1 photo overexposed (for use in combining in post processing when you’ve got underexposed foreground and over-exposed sky) – something I’ve never done before.

Interestingly enough, with the ‘mirrorless’ camera, I have to actually think about each shot/subject and often change the settings.  With my old Canon DSLR, I often left it on the same settings most of the afternoon, only changing the focal point or zooming in & out with the telephoto lens.

Thank goodness I’ve had 4 1/2 years practice with a DSLR before buying this new camera.  I never would have known what the manual was talking about 4 years ago.  I’ve bookmarked a lengthy detailed version of the whole Sony a6000 manual, as the flimsy little paper version that came in the box is very basic (to say the least).

I do believe I’m learning a little about the technical side of a Camera in recent days, where in the past, I concentrated on the subject.

11 Comments

  • Nice essay,Vicki. I am liking your assessment of the a6000 more and more. Think I should try one too,but for now I have to go less expensive. I even looked at fixed lens Olympus camera….but? Keep on with the good images! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t say enough good things about the Sony a6000, Steve. But then it is supposed to be the best mirrorless autofocus on the market.
      Don’t forget it’s expensive and should be a great camera of course. I could only afford it by selling my long Sigma 150-500mm telephoto lens. I certainly wouldn’t have been able to afford it otherwise.

      Like

    • I just wish I’d known about mirrorless cameras before I bought my heavy DSLR gear, David. But it’s certainly got rather convoluted, (if that’s the right word), menus. To me it’s like a maze to navigate (in terms of listing settings in no particular order). I wouldn’t have understand it or been able to learn how to use it 4 yrs ago.
      I can understand why the professionals use it when they don’t want to carry heavy gear.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I figured I may as well share, Terry.
      Someone else may be interested in a ‘mirrorless’ camera (or Sony brand & model). Despite the user-UNfriendly menu, I still think it’s excellent value.
      I suspect, eventually, I’ll be able to capture moving subjects much better.
      I mean to say I’ve only had it a week and already it’s quite comfortable to use and I know where to look in the menu. It’s just a big menu, but there are a couple of ways to customise and use short-cuts.
      When I say its a big menu, I mean big for me (as I didn’t make full use of the DSLR menus). I’m now using more settings and when I get better, I’ll share some more images.

      Like

  • A very nice couple of street photos. They offer a different perspective. As for the 18-200 mm; I would reconsider your wish. There is always gonna be more equipment that will make you take the photos you want. But the truth is, if you learn to use what you have, whatever it is, the result will be much better anyway… Besides, the quality for such a long zoom is unfortunately never the best. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Otto. Funny about those feet. A random shot which I really liked when I downloaded it. There’s something about the feet all ‘standing to attention’.
      As to the 18-200mm. I’d rather have that one lens (instead of the two kit lenses which actually add up to the same thing).
      I guess I’m just addicted to that 18-200mm range – it’s so versatile and of course, i use it as an extension of my eyesight which is just not good enough in real life. I think it’s the eyesight (more than the actual camera lens).
      Thanks for your advice – I appreciate hearing your opinion, with your job as a photojournalist and as a photography teacher.

      Like

    • PS. Further to my reply Otto, today I went back to the camera store with the two kit lenses (and another lens to trade) and exchanged them (and the other lens) for the Tamron 18-200mm lens. Could justify the extra cost of the Sony 18-200mm, especially as I could see little difference between the Sony & Tamron. I was pleased with the exchange.

      Now to get back outdoors getting more practice with this new camera.

      Rain tomorrow and the weekend, but never mind, I’ll find something to photograph.

      Like

Leave a Reply

