ARCHITECTURE, LANDSCAPES

SHRINE OF REMEMBRANCE (Melbourne)


Tagged: , , , , ,

Photo made 23rd April 2014
Photo made 23rd April 2014

The Shrine of Remembrance commemorates those men and women who gave their lives in war and more can be read about it here.  It underwent a major multi-million dollar upgrade with a new underground education facility recently.

I’ve made dozens of ‘picture post-card‘ colour images like every other tourist/visitor, so when I had an ‘hour to kill‘ before an appointment last week, I spent some time trying to think of how I really see it.  There are so many stairs and not easy to walk up and down with heavy camera gear and shopping as I had last week and in the end, I just sat on the bottom of the eastern steps in the shade while eating my lunch and photographed the stairs beside me.

IMG_9844In one of the new sunken forecourts which lead to the visitor centre, the solemn stone structure and stark architecture is broken with a highly creative new ‘sculpture’ of red shade cloth and with my limited lenses, quite impossible to photograph, so I decided to just make an image of some of the flowing lines that greet you as you enter through an archway.  While you can’t see the shapes in the image below, I thought they looked like the petals of a red poppy and wondered if that was the intention of the designer, (as we wear red poppies on Remembrance Day in Australia).

IMG_9853

IMG_9856

And some more images from my archives…

7th September 2010
7th September 2010

Personally, I think the building looks more majestic in the winter, especially with storm clouds in the background.  The image above and below were shot in September 2010 with my little point and shoot Canon Powershot A3000 IS. This tiny camera may be small, but the image below is still my favourite image of the building.

IMG_4055

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

