FINE ART, NATURE

IN THE GREENHOUSE (Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne)


Tagged: , , ,

IMG_9795 - Version 2

All I can say is working with a 50mm f1.4 lens (since the autofocus on my 18-200mm 3.5-5.6 telephoto ‘walkabout’ lens started going downhill), is proving challenging.

I think the hardest part is trying to decide where to put the focal point on an object (or flower) that I can’t see clearly.  For 4+ years I’ve been zooming in with a telephoto lens to take close-ups (unless I’ve got my macro lens with me of course).

The image above has been rotated 90 degrees, but it wasn’t until I converted it to B & W that I decided where I’d crop the image and erase some distracting bits.

I’m still not up to shooting in monochrome yet.  I just can’t see the potential in-camera.  Perhaps I never will.  But then I haven’t used my 50mm lens very much in the past.  Practice. Practice………….Practice (says my inner voice).

11 Comments

Leave a Reply

