NATURE

MORETON BAY FIG (Ficus macrophylla) – Treasury Gardens, Melbourne


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve never pretended to be a landscape photographer.

Partly because I say I rarely get to a location where I can take Landscape photos.  I seem to associate the word ‘Landscapes‘ with countryside or mountains.  The truth is that there are some landscape scenes within my inner city surroundings – I just don’t seem to see them.  I’m always looking at the small details around me (and rarely at the big picture).

When I walked through the long avenue of Moreton Bay Fig trees to my medical appointment yesterday, I was determined to try to capture the height of these enormous trees and the long avenue in these gardens.  Finally, after many attempts, I feel as though I got the composition right.  You really need people walking down the pathway to put the tree height in perspective.  These trees are massive and their root structure above the ground is often long like the tentacles of an octopus.  The Moreton Bay Fig trees are grown along the east coast of Australia….mainly in the northern states. These trees in the Treasury Gardens (just below the Treasure Buildings on the eastern edge of Melbourne’s CBD) were probably planted in the early 1860s to get to this height.

I wonder how tall they are in the wild?

IMG_2516 - Version 2 IMG_2518 - Version 2 IMG_2519 - Version 3

15 Comments

Leave a Reply

